Kansas Authors Club logo Kansas Authors Club
Benefits Officers Membership Districts


Ferguson Kansas History Book Award

Hot Links
side bar


2017 Ferguson Kansas History Book Award
Deadline: July 1, 2017

The Ferguson History Book Award was created in 2000 to dovetail into the Lyons History Book Award which ended with the home going of Ruth Lyons. Patricia Ferguson served as President of the Kansas Authors Club from 2002 -2003 and hosted the convention in Emporia in 1998. She also served as vice-president of the 0rganization
from 2000-2001. During this time she was executor of the Coffin Book Award.

The Coffin Book Award is open to fiction, non-fiction, history, poetry, etc. and Patricia thought it best to have an
award exclusively for Kansas history since the conclusion of the Lyons series left this area open. The rules, therefore,
for the FKHBA are the same as the original Lyons rules, with the one exception being the inclusion of church histories
which were disallowed under the Lyons rules. Other than this, though, the rules for the award are the same and will
remain so. The winners of the Lyons series and the FKHBA are archived in the Spencer Research Library at the
University of Kansas.

by George Ferguson

Please print and mail this provided
Patricita Ferguson Kansas History Book Award entry form (PDF)
with your entry. A PDF viewer is available for free download online from Adobe.

Patriicia Ferguson Kansas History Book Award
Funded by Patricia K. Ferguson – from 2001
Deadline: July 1, 2017

2017 Rules for Competition are downloadable as a PDF file and are printed below:


  1. The contest is open to any Kansas resident (KAC members and non-members).
  2. Subject: Kansas History. This may be a history of the state, a county, a city, church, school, institution, an industry, a way of life or any FACTUAL account of any phase of Kansas history. NO FICTION. NOT A GENEALOGY.
  3. The entry must have been published within the two years prior to June 1 of the current year. The book may be either privately or commercially published.
  4. The book must be the original work of the entrant, minimum of 5,000 words, and must make a significant contribution to Kansas history.
  5. No entry fee is required.
  6. The winner will receive $100.00.
  7. Two copies of the winning book are to be donated: 1) a copy for the Patricia K. Ferguson library collection; and 2) a copy for the KAC Library at Spencer Research Library at KU in Lawrence.
  8. The award will be presented to the winner at the 2017 Annual Convention and Writers Conference in Coffeyville. on Saturday, October 14, 2017. If the winner is unable to attend, the award will be mailed.
  9. Mail one copy of your book by July 1, 2017 to:
        Ferguson Kansas History Book Competition
        PO Box 679
        DeSoto, KS 66018
  10. Postage for the return of the book after the judging must accompany the entry.
  11. If it is the decision of the judge that none of the entries make a significant contribution to Kansas history, no prize will be awarded.

Award Winners:

2016  The Last Wild Places of Kansas
George Frazier, Non-KAC member, Lawrence, KS
2015  —no Furguson Award bestowed
2014  —no Furguson Award bestowed
2013   Leave No Threshing Stone Unturned
Glen Ediger, Non-KAC member
2012   no Furguson Award bestowed
2011    Holy Ground, Healing Water: Cultural Landscapes at Waconda Lake, Kansas (Environmental History Series)
Donald J. Blakeslee, Non-KAC member, Wichita
2010    My Flint Hills Childhood, Growing up in 1930s Kansas
Gail Lee Martin, District 5, El Dorado, KS

2009    Small Town Showdown
Eileen Umbehr, District 4, Alma, KS  
2007   By Thy Strengthening Grace: A Brief History of the First One Hundred Years of the Bahá’í Faith
in Topeka, 1906-2006

Duane L. Herrmann, District 1, Topeka, KS
  2006   Gathering at the Golden Gate: Mobilizing for War in the Philippines, 1898
Stephen D. Coats, Ph.D., Non-KAC member, Lansing, KS
2005   The Lady Is a Veterinarian
Lesley Ann Gentry, District 6, Beloit

2004   The Secret Danites: Kansas ' First Jayhawkers ,
Todd Mildfelt, Non-KAC member, Richmond

2003  —no Furguson Award bestowed

2002   Golden Age, Dust Bowl, Great Depression,
Ellen May Stanley
, District 7, Dighton

Kansas Authors Club--A Not-for-profit organization for creative, academic, technical and journalistic writers.
Membership inquiries welcomed

Return to
Top of Page


Janice Levering George Paris Trudy McFarland and Evie Green Tom Nyquist Bob Lawson Mary Alice Parmley Liz Nichols Dale Vaughn Mark Bouton, Nov. 2012 a Mark Bouton, Nov. 2012 b