Kansas Authors Club logo Kansas Authors Club
Benefits Officers Membership Districts

Nelson Poetry Book Award

Hot Links
side bar



Previous Winnersspacer

2017 Nelson Poetry Book Award
Deadline: June 15, 2017

Created by Raymond and Margaret Nelson

Please print, fill in, and mail the attached
Nelson Poetry Book Award submission form
(PDF) with your entry.

A PDF viewer is available for free download online from Adobe.

2017 Rules for Competition are downloadable as a PDF file and are printed below:

Rules for Submission: Deadline June 15, 2017

  1. The contest is open to any Kansas resident (KAC member or non-member).

  2. The book must be original poetry written by the contestant, a minimum of 50 pages in length. Books including prose selections are not eligible.

  3. The entry must have been published, issued in print. and available for public distribution within the two years prior to June 1, 2017. The book may be commercially or privately published.

  4. No entry fee is required.

  5. The winner will receive $100.00

  6. Two copies of the winning book will be donated. One copy will go to Mr. Nelson and one copy to the KAC shelves at the Spencer Research Library at KU in Lawrence.

  7. The winner will be notified by September 1, in order to allow time for banquet reservations.
       The award will be presented to the winner at the 2017 Annual Convention and Writers Conference in Coffeyville, at the evening banquet on Saturday, October 14, 2017. If the winner is unable to attend, the award will be mailed.

  8. Mail two copies of your book no later than June 15, 2017, along with your completed this entry form (also available from the contest manager).

  9. Non-winners’ books will be returned at the convention. Please provide return postage if you will not be attending the convention.

  10. Mail two copies of your book and your completed entry form June 15, 2017 to:

    Nelson Poetry Book Award Competition
    Ronda Miller
    214 Lawrence Ave.
    Lawrence, KS 66049
    phone: 785-840-4150
    send email to Ronda

Rules posted 10/18/2013

Award Winners

2016   Certain Streets at an Uncertain Hour, Jeff Tigehelaar, Lawrence,
           non-member, with illustrations by Charlotte Pemberton, Lawrence,
2015   While the Kettle's On, Melissa Fite Johnson, Pittsburg, non-
2014   Autochthonous: Found In Place, Dan Pohl, Wichita, D5
2013   Sonny Kenner's Red Guitar, Kevin Rabas, Emporia, D2
2012   The Afterlives of Trees, Wyatt Tonwley, Shawnee Mission,
2011   Soul's Night Out, Nedra Rogers, Lawrence, non-member
2010   Lisa's Flying Electric Piano, Kevin Rabas, Lawrence, D2
2009   Snake in the Cradle, Lora K. Reiter, Ottawa, D2
2008   The Uni Verse, Tom Mach, Lawrence, D2
2007   Home Schooled, Larry Rochelle, Pittsboro, NC, D2
2006   voyeur poems, Matthew Porubsky, Topeka, non-member
2005   For Crying Out Loud, Naomi Patterson, Topeka, D1
2004   Dust Devils: Collisions With the Wind, Larry Rochelle,
           Overland Park,
D. 2, AND
           Oracle of the Heart
, Muriel T. Stackley, Kansas City
2003   Contrails in the Wind, Ruth Stunz , Wichita, D. 5
2002   Sixty Years of Poetry, 1941-2000, Laurence Harshbarger,
           Junction City, D. 4

See also:
J. Donald Coffin Memorial Book Award
Ferguson Kansas History Book Award
Literary Contest

Kansas Authors Club--A Not-for-profit organization for creative, academic, technical and journalistic writers. Membership inquiries welcomed